Backsliding – Saint Patrick’s Day Shenanigans and Birthday Burlesque 

Amazing performance from Sweet Spot Nation, sweetspotnation.com this past weekend in Baltimore, MD

This past weekend was a double Wammy for me! Saint Patrick’s Day AND a best friend’s/housemate’s birthday. It would prove challenging.

I definitely drank this past weekend. And yes, I’d say I also indulged a bit more food wise than I would have liked. But overall I’m fairly proud that I didn’t go too overboard – at least with the food. Drinks might be another story.

A pizza with veggies is healthy right? – Joe Squared in Baltimore, Maryland
By Monday I did NOT want to be healthy anymore. Hungover and exhausted from a fun weekend (NYC to Wilmington to Baltimore and back to Wilmington) all I was craving was fat to soak up the alcohol. Too sick to think about working out I canceled my plans for the morning and skipped my evening workout too.

As I started to accept this would be another failed attempt at getting my act together and being healthier, I went to my Tuesday morning workout.

Just when I felt like backsliding some more I found out I’m down 5 pounds and over 4% body fat!! Needless to say I’m encouraged.

Back to eating what I was before now, I’m re-energized and ready for another workout tonight with a couple of my housemates.

But this shows me that when challenged I still have a lot of work to do. 

For now I’m encouraged and I’m going to hold onto that. I want a healthy lifestyle, not to diet. I have to be patient with myself while I work to get there.

Leave a comment